Inktober!

What a month so far. Look for a new job, find a new job, doctor 3 times, Mom’s doctor one time, sick with the Flu and I am also participating in Inktober this year.  Did I mention allergies too.  But it all seems to be working out.

I am trying out how to ink my whimsical girls.  So I took a picture of my pencil drawing and one of my inked drawing. I think that will help me figure out the difference. I like the pencil one better and am trying to figure out how to get the inked one to look more natural.  Two days I punked out and just did lettering for the day’s prompt.  I really need to practice my lettering more as it is starting to get sloppy.

This is the official list.  My thoughts were that I will try to follow it but I am not that skilled at doing expressions and things like that.  I only have time for about 30 minutes from start to finish.  Some of these took longer though.  This upcoming week is going to be short ones too as I am going to be pretty busy.  But the idea is to draw every day.  I figure the ones that aren’t colored in, I can always do that another day.

Inktober

Poisonous:  This one I played with line strokes. The branch is supposed to be poison ivy.  Yup, they don’t get much better but I will share anyway.

Tranquil:

Roasted:

10.03.18RoastedSm

 

Spell: This one I love.  I used Detective Comics issue 833  for the reference.  That issue was my first Batman issue that started my monthly pull list.  I picked it out of the previews a few months before.

Chicken:

Drooling: This one was difficult to figure out what to do.  I forgot to take a picture of the pencil drawing but did so for the inked version.  I didn’t like and did a black spray ink wash over her.  In the end it came out much better and you can see the drooling.

Exhausted: This is my least favorite.  I actually wasn’t going to do it but quickly sketched out a face.

10.07.18ExhaustedSm

Star: I really want to color this in when I have some time.

 

Precious: This again was a rush job and I forgot to snap a pencil shot.  I colored it in because it was kind of plain and I wanted to practice more.

 

Flowing:  This one overall is my favorite.  I did this during my lunch hour and messed up inking the G as someone came into the room.  I should have flowed out the line line the F.  I was a day late on this too.

10.10.18Flowing110.10.18Flowing

Cruel:  Since I was late on Flowing, I just did the lettering for Cruel.

10.11.18CruelSm

Whale:

Guarded:  This one was a cheat.  I used watercolor pencils and very little ink.  I wanted to play with a different medium.

 

That is it for now.  I am not sure how much I can do this coming week but I will try to sketch something even if it doesn’t match the prompts exactly.

Enjoy!

 

 

Leave a comment