My Bullet Journal!

PinkStarBorderTop2

I hunted for a dot grid journal last week at my local craft stores without any luck on finding a journal but it did lead me to nabbing a free phone!  Once again, off to Amazon and I had the big decision of going spiral over bound.  I selected a spiral book because the binding hump is bothersome for me.
One look at this cute little journal and it quickly went into my cart.  It is called a Ghost Grid (get it because it uses dots.  :))  You can see that there is a clear plastic cover which I flip open so you can see it better.  The second picture is the first page and they include a couple of subject pages.  Each page after the index is marked.
GhostGrid1.jpgGhostGrid2
This took me about 4 hours today to start the journal up.  About a few hours of mapping out the initial content a couple of days ago and another hour or so obtaining supplies.  I am hoping that I enjoy and use this journal because it seems a bit time consuming.
Here’s the Key.  I kept the bottom clean just in case I am inspired later to doddle on it.BuJo01
My main reason for maintaining the journal:

  • Track that 6 week cleaning cycle.
  • Books read or want to read
  • Movies / DVD on TV watched or want to watch
  • Pad milestones or to dos
  • Monthly tracker of some habits.
So my next two pages hit the first two bullet points.  The cleaning schedule is done here so it isn’t buried later on.  I opted to do a back log of movies and books read as a means of tracking it for the year.  I may be able to go back from the first of the year but it may be too much to remember.buJo02BuJo3
While I did daily entry spaces for the final week of June, my journal priorities aren’t daily.  So I am not sure how I am going to proceed with this journal.

BuJo04

Honestly, I was a bit lost after I finished the second page.  These are the questions I need to resolve before starting up July:

  • Does a daily logging / task list work for me?  This decision will affects how I set up the journal going forward so I am not too sure if leaving only 6 lines is enough or will I just end up with a huge blank page by the end of the week?
  • Will just a weekly page list work better for me?  Then I can use the space more efficiently and log daily ideas or quotes in more of a free-formed fashion.
  • Tracking to watch and to read list?  How is that actually done without getting the list lost in the journal?  Do I just mark the page number in the Subject index?
  • I was quite clear at what my aim was when I ordered the journal and now in practice, I am left wondering how I can make it work for my lifestyle.
The journal itself is really nice.  You can see a little ghosting and I know that bothers most.  I am not terribly bothered by it and I feel like that will happen with most paper.

Material used: Gel pens, Mildliners, Colored Pencils and the dreaded Sharpies.  The Sharp was the only one to bleed through.   Personally, the bleed through wasn’t that bad as the paper has a nice weight to it.  I will not be using a Sharpie in the future though, I just wanted to test it out.  I do have some Watercolor markers that I am dying to try out.   That will be for July!

SharpieBleed

Note: I used a black Pentel Gel pen for all the black writing.  I tested the Mildliners with a regular pen and they worked out great.  That is not the case with the gel in.  They tend to smear it especially if you go over the area twice.

PinkStarBorder bottom2

Leave a comment